|
|||||||||||
|
Re: [Clamav-users] Strange behavior of Clamav with HTML email from Outlook
From: Dennis Peterson <dennispe(at)inetnw.com>
Date: Mon Oct 01 2007 - 23:13:18 EDT
> Dennis Peterson wrote: >> Chinh Nguyen Tam wrote: >>> Greetings, >>> >>> We've notice some strange behavior of clamav in our email server for. >>> When we try to send some email (HTML format, Outlook 2003) with URL >>> inside, clamav detects these email as Email.Foolball-2 virus. If we send >>> the emails with the same URL in Thunderbird HTML format or in pure text, >>> clamav will let the emails pass by. >>> You can see the example of one Outlook HTML attached in this messages >>> (please unpack with gzip). >>> Please advice if anyone met the same problem before and how to solve this. >>> >>> Thank you very much! >> If your message contains a url such as http://123.231.255.29/, in other words a URL >> made up from an IP address, and if that URL is preceded by the word "tracker" then >> the message will fail. In fact I had to reword this post to get past the av filter. >> >> dp > > Yes, our emails contain urls with IP. We must change it so something > like hxxp://123.123.123.123 to pass the filter. But you know, It's a bit > noisy for the users. It'd be ok if there's a tip to disable this kind > of check from clamav. Perhaps setting this option in your clamd.conf file will help. # Scan URLs found in mails for phishing attempts using heuristics. # Default: yes #PhishingScanURLs yes PhishingScanURLs no The default is Yes. dp Help us build a comprehensive ClamAV guide: visit http://wiki.clamav.net http://lurker.clamav.net/list/clamav-users.html Received on Mon Oct 1 23:15:26 2007 This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.8 : Mon Oct 29 2007 - 12:20:43 EDT |
||||||||||
|
|||||||||||