Pantek Library
Hosting Provided By
CybrHost
High Speed Hosting

Re: [Clamav-users] Strange behavior of Clamav with HTML email from Outlook

From: Christoph Cordes <ib(at)precompiled.de>
Date: Mon Oct 01 2007 - 23:14:31 EDT

Am 02.10.2007 um 05:05 schrieb Chinh Nguyen Tam:

> Dennis Peterson wrote:
>> Chinh Nguyen Tam wrote:
>>> Greetings,
>>>
>>> We've notice some strange behavior of clamav in our email server
>>> for.
>>> When we try to send some email (HTML format, Outlook 2003) with URL
>>> inside, clamav detects these email as Email.Foolball-2 virus. If
>>> we send
>>> the emails with the same URL in Thunderbird HTML format or in
>>> pure text,
>>> clamav will let the emails pass by.
>>> You can see the example of one Outlook HTML attached in this
>>> messages
>>> (please unpack with gzip).
>>> Please advice if anyone met the same problem before and how to
>>> solve this.
>>>
>>> Thank you very much!
>>
>> If your message contains a url such as http://123.231.255.29/, in
>> other words a URL
>> made up from an IP address, and if that URL is preceded by the
>> word "tracker" then
>> the message will fail. In fact I had to reword this post to get
>> past the av filter.
>>
>> dp
>
> Yes, our emails contain urls with IP. We must change it so something
> like hxxp://123.123.123.123 to pass the filter. But you know, It's
> a bit
> noisy for the users. It'd be ok if there's a tip to disable this
> kind
> of check from clamav.
>

Could you submit such a mail @ http://cgi.clamav.net/sendvirus.cgi

Thank you.

-- 
Best regards,
   Christoph


_______________________________________________
Help us build a comprehensive ClamAV guide: visit 
http://wiki.clamav.nethttp://lurker.clamav.net/list/clamav-users.html
Received on Mon Oct 1 23:16:19 2007

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.8 : Mon Oct 29 2007 - 12:20:44 EDT


Contact Us  Legal Notices  Order Services Online 
Pantek Home  Privacy Policy  IT news  Site Map  Pantek Library