Pantek Library
Hosting Provided By
CybrHost
High Speed Hosting

030 ignkeywords igetnet follow up

From: Waitman C. Gobble <waitman(at)emkdesign.com>
Date: Mon Nov 11 2002 - 17:19:34 EST

Hello all,

Below is the response I received from igetnet.com regarding their spyware. (Caution I wouldn't touch their download file for nothing).

Interesting thing, apparently you can install their spyware directly from their web site.

HOWEVER nobody here has heard of them, and does not recall previously visiting the site.

Did any of you people with the ign spyware infestation install it on purpose? The consensus here is "No".

At first glance I don't see anything strange in the event logs on the machine....

Best,

Do you need help?X

Waitman Gobble
EMK Design
Buena Park California
+1.7145222528
http://emkdesign.com

Return-Path: <mark@igetnet.com>
Received: from htsvr01.hightower.com (mail.igetnet.com [216.41.184.80]) X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft Exchange V6.0.6249.0 content-class: urn:content-classes:message Subject: uninstall
MIME-Version: 1.0
Date: 11 Nov 2002 11:44:33 -0800
Message-ID:
<D01F0DCA5F1F0E4785A301199E299C512B5797@htsvr01.hightower.com> X-MS-Has-Attach:
X-MS-TNEF-Correlator:
From: Mark LeGault <mark@igetnet.com>
To: waitman@emkdesign.com

Hello Waitman -

To uninstall our search program, just save this file to your desktop, close all windows, and double-click the file. You can also download this same file here if you prefer:

http://www.igetnet.com/iGetNet_IGNDownloads.html

Be sure all windows are closed when you run it.

Thanks,

iGetNet Customer Support

Do you need more help?X

-----Original Message-----
From: Waitman C. Gobble [mailto:waitman@emkdesign.com] Sent: Saturday, November 09, 2002 12:04 PM To: Support
Subject: help

Hello

Someone or some program has illegally tampered with one of my computers.

Opening Internet Explorer sends me directly to ignkeywords.com, which is then redirected to the msn search. I did not request or authorize this change to my system.

When I open Internet Explorer I expect for it to go to the home page I have placed in the configuration settings. However, it automatically goes to ignkeywords.com as if the url for the home page does not exist, which is completely incorrect - the url does indeed exist.

I expect an explanation of why my machine was changed, how it was changed and how to revert my machine to its original state.

If you prefer to meet in person to discuss this matter, I am within very short driving distance to Irvine.

Sincerely,

Can we help you?X

Waitman Gobble
Buena Park California
714-522-2528



This list is provided by the SecurityFocus ARIS analyzer service. For more information on this free incident handling, management and tracking system please see: http://aris.securityfocus.com Received on Tue Nov 12 16:10:18 2002

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.8 : Wed Aug 23 2006 - 14:01:50 EDT


Contact Us  Legal Notices  Order Services Online 
Pantek Home  Privacy Policy  IT news  Site Map  Pantek Library