Pantek Library
Hosting Provided By
CybrHost
High Speed Hosting

Virus? Trojan?

From: David Gillett <gillettdavid(at)fhda.edu>
Date: Mon Dec 30 2002 - 17:03:18 EST


  So far today, I've received two email messages from

kbl-zrz2519.zeelandnet.nl [62.238.233.233]

which, apparently, claimed in its HELO message to *be* our local MX (which of course was who it was talking TO). Sounds to me like a bug in the sending software.

  The other thing these messages had in common was a 33KB .scr ("screen saver") executable attachment. Norton doesn't recognize this as a known threat, but I don't want to be the first to learn the hard way what it does.

  MAYBE this is just ill-conceived and poorly-written spam. Maybe it's something more serious. Anybody know one way or the other?

David Gillett



This list is provided by the SecurityFocus ARIS analyzer service. For more information on this free incident handling, management and tracking system please see: http://aris.securityfocus.com Received on Mon Dec 30 18:30:32 2002

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.8 : Wed Aug 23 2006 - 14:01:55 EDT


Contact Us  Legal Notices  Order Services Online 
Pantek Home  Privacy Policy  IT news  Site Map  Pantek Library