Pantek Library
Hosting Provided By
CybrHost
High Speed Hosting

RE: PDL anti-spam blacklist

From: Christopher Wagner <chrisw(at)pacaids.com>
Date: Thu Jan 02 2003 - 13:17:09 EST


John Paul,

        The possibilities are many, but the most likely are as such.. 1) The previous owner of your IPs (not knowing how long you've had these IPs), did some naughty things with them and got those IPs blacklisted.. I'd contact your ISP and just get a different block of IPs if this is the case. 2) They have a legitimate concern about your IP block, do you have a mail server running on your network? Are you absolutely certain it is not an open relay or has a hole that allows open relays? Abuse.net has a excellent tool for checking this. http://www.abuse.net/relay.html If you did have an open relay, repairing it should raise your grace in the eyes of the blacklist operator.
3) Looking at the URL provided.. It looks like they're not a list of open proxies or relays.. They seem to be just keeping track of dialups and broadband IPs to reduce the amount of spam coming from those addresses since many spammers use them to email spam using their own mail server instead of using their ISP's mail server to attempt to circumvent their ISP's anti-spam policies. They provide an email address on their website and instructions for removal. It seems pretty simple to me. http://www.pan-am.ca/pdl/removing.html

I wish you luck,

  • Christopher Wagner chrisw@pacaids.com

Packaging Aids Corporation - Information Systems P.O. Box 9144
San Rafael, CA 94912-9144
http://www.pacaids.com/
(415) 454-4868 x116  

-----Original Message-----
From: John Paul [mailto:jpaul@kormanmarketing.com] Sent: Thursday, January 02, 2003 9:27 AM To: incidents@securityfocus.com
Subject: PDL anti-spam blacklist

First off, I am not a spammer, nor do I sympathize with spammers or spam. I am not dial up, nor dynamic IP'd, yet on their blacklist.

I take Internet security very seriously.

My personal IP range is blacklisted by these guys for some reason. Looks like the PDL is somehow "enforcing" my ISP's TOS and/or AUP, go figure...

Do you need help?X

#1 Has anyone else run into this "service"?
#2 Has anyone successfully had themselves removed from the list? If so, was
the process like bad dental work?

http://www.pan-am.ca/pdl/

Please understand I have not taken the time to verify the entire list as dial-up vs. not dial-up, I have better things to do than check the PDL's work.

This is not intended to be the start of yet another un-ending philosophical debate on spam blockage.

Thanks,

John



This list is provided by the SecurityFocus ARIS analyzer service. For more information on this free incident handling, management and tracking system please see: http://aris.securityfocus.com
SPAM: ---- Start SpamAssassin results
SPAM: 0 hits, 5 required;
SPAM: 
SPAM: ---- End of SpamAssassin results

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
This list is provided by the SecurityFocus ARIS analyzer service. For more information on this free incident handling, management and tracking system please see: http://aris.securityfocus.com Received on Thu Jan 2 14:14:14 2003

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.8 : Wed Aug 23 2006 - 14:01:55 EDT


Contact Us  Legal Notices  Order Services Online 
Pantek Home  Privacy Policy  IT news  Site Map  Pantek Library