Pantek Library
Hosting Provided By
CybrHost
High Speed Hosting

RE: Dubious e-mail: [Fwd: Dell.com (Password Request)]

From: John McCracken <john(at)mccrackenassociates.com>
Date: Sat May 31 2003 - 16:25:38 EDT


Hamid:

I doubt this is due to "someone who got hold of a DELL customer listing," although the routing is a bit odd, i.e., (ausoladperft05.development.online.dell.com [10.32.4.239]).

I have found Dell's "Support Webmaster" at: http://support.dell.com/us/en/emaildell/webmaster.asp helpful and very responsive in the past. Nonetheless, I forwarded this some internal contacts at Dell and I'm sure someone will contact you regarding your concerns.

Thanks!
John McCracken

-----Original Message-----
From: houyachi@mindspring.com [mailto:houyachi@mindspring.com] Sent: Friday, May 30, 2003 11:46 AM
To: incidents@securityfocus.com
Subject: Dubious e-mail: [Fwd: Dell.com (Password Request)]

  I received the inline e-mail from what claims to be DELL Online service. A Quick SAMSPADE search shows that smtp9.us.dell.com has an ip of 143.166.148.136 and is registered to DELL Computers. I have an uneasy feeling about this and my call to DELL went unanswered. I spoke to customer service asking to speak to someone who can look into this but I was sent back to the belly of the phone system and was given the runaround. This is could be somebody trolling for passwords by spamming anyone, or someone who got hold of a DELL customer listing and is fishing for passwords. Idid not want to check the link below from my workstation for that would amount to a partial verification of the e-mail address. By the time I got to check it via sampsade it gave a 404 error.

Any thoughts of a recourse of action here if any at all.

Thanks

Do you need help?X

Hamid Ouyachi

We recently received a request to e-mail your password to you. Your Dell.com My Account password is 'password'. You may use the following URL http://membership.dell.com/dellportal/signin.aspx?c=us&l=en&s=gen
<http://membership.dell.com/dellportal/signin.aspx?s=gen> to return to
your account page.

We look forward to providing continued world class support for your computing needs.

Dell Online
http://www.dell.com <Dell.Storm.UI.Atoms.SimpleLink>





Received on Mon Jun 2 01:14:39 2003

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.8 : Wed Aug 23 2006 - 14:02:06 EDT


Contact Us  Legal Notices  Order Services Online 
Pantek Home  Privacy Policy  IT news  Site Map  Pantek Library