Pantek Library
Hosting Provided By
CybrHost
High Speed Hosting

Re: Objective site to run spamcheck against?

From: Bob Proulx <bob(at)proulx.com>
Date: Wed Sep 19 2007 - 15:56:27 EDT


Tuc at T-B-O-H.NET wrote:
> ANYWAY, it doesn't look like my server is in the lists,
> BUT......The IP I send from (RR.COM) is blacklisted here :
>
> dul.dnsbl.sorbs.net
> dynablock.njabl.org

These are not really blacklists but are a list of dynamic IP addresses. Many sites will not accept mail from a dynamic IP range. My site is one of those. My policy is that I refuse connections from dynamic IP ranges.

As has been discussed many times in various forums and would be available by reading the archives the best practice is always to send from a static IP address. Otherwise RBLs don't really work at all because a spammer could simply rotate addresses routinely and avoid the RBL listing.

> > > > An inordinate amount of people are telling me I'm
> > > > ending up in spam folders,

RBLs would probably result in a silent discard as opposed to delivery to a spam folder. I suspect it would be other triggers.

Bob Received on Wed Sep 19 15:57:10 2007

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.8 : Sat Oct 27 2007 - 08:54:14 EDT


Contact Us  Legal Notices  Order Services Online 
Pantek Home  Privacy Policy  IT news  Site Map  Pantek Library