Pantek Library
Hosting Provided By
CybrHost
High Speed Hosting

RE: New PayPal phish?

From: Robert - elists <lists07(at)abbacomm.net>
Date: Fri Sep 28 2007 - 13:17:38 EDT


>
> At 08:10 AM 9/28/2007, Kenneth Porter wrote:
> >Is there a new PayPal phish going about? This almost looks
> >legitimate, and I imagine it would have a lot of appeal to the
> >survey-lovers. (I had no communication with PayPal this week, so I
> >know this is bogus.)

....some time ago when setup on ebay and paypal we received a legitimate email implying from and/or approved by paypal so to speak from a paypal email address and server and it was a essentially UCE spam.

I checked the headers and doing a traceroute took me straight to the InfoUSA gateway...

Doing a dig or two forward and reverse revealed *proper* dns forward and reverse for the paypal.com aliased smtp server inside the infousa ip network.

The proper forward and reverse dns alone implies some type of agreement and consent between those orgs to any knowledgeable internetwork admin that ive ever met.

Imagine that boys and girls.

Deception, money, and power talk eh?

Tif I remember correctly, there was essentially no comment from paypal regarding it being real or a phish.

Do you need help?X

I was trying to dig it up in our archives and will post info if I find it

  • rh
Received on Fri Sep 28 13:18:34 2007

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.8 : Sat Oct 27 2007 - 21:56:05 EDT


Contact Us  Legal Notices  Order Services Online 
Pantek Home  Privacy Policy  IT news  Site Map  Pantek Library